You are here


The Society is established in 1998 with a group of dedicated engineers promoted the idea of establishing a professional society and realized their ambition. Past presidents, in order of their service period, include Dr. Tesfaye Bayou, Dr. Fekadu Shewarega, Dr. Assefa Gebreselassie, Eng. Kassa Woldesenbet, and Eng. Amare Mergia, who have contributed a lot to the present status of the ESEE.

Its name at establishment was Society of Ethiopian Electrical Engineers (SEEE) but later was changed to the current name, Ethiopian Society of Electrical Engineers (ESEE) to match the amharic version and also to refine it for better meaning .

At times there were arguments on whether the term Electrical in the name of the Society includes Electronic, Computer, Communication, Control, Instrumentation,...etc. Based on the historical development of electrical engineering as the mother of all specialties in the field, it is understood and accepted that all the sub disciplines are also active parts of the ESEE until the need for separate branches is felt.